Professor Audrey Macklin receives President’s Impact Award

February 24, 2020 by Cate MacLeod

Centre for Criminology & Sociolegal Studies Director Audrey Macklin has received the President’s Impact Award, as well as this year’s Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award.

The University of Toronto President’s Impact Awards celebrate and honour faculty members whose research has led to significant impact beyond academia. U of T News writes:

For the profound impact she has made on migration and citizenship law, business and human rights, Professor Audrey Macklin has received the President’s Impact Award.

A scholar, educator and lawyer, Macklin holds the Chair in Human Rights and serves as the faculty adviser to the Faculty of Law’s International Human Rights Program

“My academic work as a human rights scholar has been inspired and enriched by engagement with tough policy questions in migration and in corporate accountability,” Macklin said. “I am honoured and grateful for this award, which will enable me to continue working with government, civil society and other actors to develop and promote just, feasible and effective laws, policies and practices – locally, nationally and internationally.”

Macklin has litigated high-profile cases, including that of Omar Khadr, and has represented interveners before the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court /Federal Court of Appeal. An author or contributor to critical policy reports on a wide range of topics, she is regularly invited to testify before Parliamentary Standing Committees and the Senate on pending legislation. She also consults for the United Nations and domestic tribunals, and participates in international human rights fact-finding missions.

Macklin will also receive this year’s Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award, one of of the Awards of Excellence, a program stewarded by Alumni Relations on behalf of the U of T Alumni Association. Due to their common aim to honour research impact, the Carolyn Tuohy and President’s Impact Awards share the same nomination process and are adjudicated by the same committee.

Congratulations, Audrey!